Hiking Goals for 2011


Since I wasn’t an avid hiker in 2010 I’m not sure what kind of pace I’m going to be able to keep up with.  I’m mostly worried about my schedule, but as I write this it is during the winter doldrums with parks closing at 6pm which makes weekday hikes next to impossible for me.

Ultimately my goal is to hike at least once a week for an average of 5+ miles which is 260 total miles.  I’m pretty sure I’m going to miss some weeks, and the weather has already had an impact on me this month.

I also hope to take at least four backpacking trips, though most of them will likely be quick overnight trips.  I’m hoping those trips help boost my mileage numbers.

I’ll be sure to update this post throughout the year with my progress as well as my most memorable trips.

Leave a Reply

